Skip to main content
Honest comparison

Hari vs Planta, Greg, Blossom, and PictureThis

Free tiers and real prices for all five, side by side.

Hari is live on the App Store.

Hari is for iPhone plant parents who forget to water, and who would like an answer about a sick plant before anyone asks them to sign up or pay. The free tier is the whole argument: 6 plants, no account to create, and 3 AI photo scans a month shared between two separate tools, identification for a plant you brought home and Plant Doctor for one that has started to look wrong. Ten Doctor follow-up questions come with them, along with species-specific schedules for 100+ houseplants, streaks, and 40+ badges. Nothing in that list expires.

Hari Pro is $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year in the App Store, which is about $2.50 a month on the yearly plan, and there is no free trial. Every rival below carries its price too, in the same row as ours, because a comparison that only prints its own number is not a comparison.

Hari is iPhone only, iOS 18 or later. If you are on Android, this page will not help you: Planta publishes an Android app.

We make Hari at Covelo Tech, so we are biased. Competitor details here are attribute level, taken from that vendor's own App Store listing, help center, or website. We do not publish rating counts, ours or theirs. US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.

The short version

Reminders and identification are table stakes now, and free identification nearly is. Here is what is structurally different about Hari.

The free tier is where the argument is. 6 plants, no sign-up, and the reminders keep working with no signal. There is no trial, so there is nothing to cancel and nothing that runs out.

Identification and Plant Doctor diagnosis are separate tools that draw on the same 3 free scans a month. Whichever one the plant turns out to need comes out of that pool, so you never have to decide in advance which one you needed.

The price is on this page, and so is theirs. Hari is $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year, about $2.50 a month on the yearly plan. Every rival price below came from that vendor's own listing.

Apple lists the ten most popular in-app purchases for an app, so a rival’s figures below are a range across those ten and not necessarily its whole price list. Hari has only two, which is why Hari shows one price instead of a range.

Hari vs Planta

The head-to-head people actually search for, and the cleanest contrast on this page. Planta is a full care manager with a light meter Hari does not have. Its own help center lists Plant Identification and Dr. Planta among the paid-subscriber features, and describes signing up with Apple, Google, or email as the first step for a new user.

Hari

Planta

AI plant identification, free

Yes. 3 AI photo scans a month, shared with diagnosis.

Paid, per Planta’s own help center, in an article stamped July 2024 that lists Plant Identification as a paid-subscriber feature.

AI diagnosis of a sick plant, free

Yes. Plant Doctor runs off those same 3 scans, plus 10 follow-up messages a month.

Paid. Dr. Planta, its diagnosis feature, sits on that same July 2024 paid-subscriber list.

Sign-up needed to start

No account needed to start.

Account required. Sign up with Apple, Google, or email, per a help-center article updated September 2026.

Watering reminders

Species-specific schedules for 100+ houseplants, free.

Its July 2024 help-center article puts care schedules “other than watering” behind the subscription.

What makes you actually do it

Streaks, XP, and 40+ badges, free. Friend nudges on Pro.

A plant journal, and an invite so family or friends can help while you are away.

Price in the US

$4.99 a month, or $29.99 a yearThe year works out to about $2.50 a month. No free trial.

$7.99 and $9.99 for one month, $17.99 to $47.99 for twelve monthsPremium plans among the ten Apple lists. Its July 2024 help-center article answers the free-trial question by describing free limited access instead.

Platform

iPhone, iOS 18 or later.

iPhone, iOS 18 or later. Also on Apple Vision and Google Play.

US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.

What Planta also does

Planta also measures light with a built-in light meter, keeps a plant journal, and lets you invite family or friends to take over care while you are away. Hari does not have a light meter.

What Hari does differently

Hari asks for no account and puts no paywall in front of the first answer: identification and Plant Doctor both sit inside the free tier, at one stated price with no trial to cancel. Planta’s help center lists Plant Identification and Dr. Planta as paid-subscriber features and describes signing up as the first step for a new user.

Hari vs Greg

The closest app on this page. Greg’s listing invites you to scan any plant for free and states the same $29.99 a year that Hari charges. Hari’s free identification is metered at 3 AI scans a month, shared with Plant Doctor. The rest of the contrast is what happens when the plant is already sick, and who holds you to the watering.

Hari

Greg

AI plant identification, free

Yes. 3 AI photo scans a month, shared with diagnosis.

Free identification, in its own words: “Scan any plant (for free!)”.

AI diagnosis of a sick plant, free

Yes. Plant Doctor runs off those same 3 scans, plus 10 follow-up messages a month.

Greg’s page lists Diagnose. Its description describes community troubleshooting from veteran growers.

Who reminds you

Private nudges from friends you added by @username, on Pro.

A public community feed, where its listing says veteran growers answer questions. Its listing does not describe streaks or badges.

Watering reminders

Species-specific schedules for 100+ houseplants, free.

Schedules from species, pot, and home. Precision Watering sits under the paid tier.

Price in the US

$4.99 a month, or $29.99 a yearThe year works out to about $2.50 a month. No free trial.

$29.99 a yearGreg states this figure in its own listing. 7 day trial, stated in the listing.

Platform

iPhone, iOS 18 or later.

iPhone, iOS 16 or later. Also on Apple Vision.

US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.

What Greg also does

Greg also runs a public community feed where other plant owners answer questions, adapts watering to your local climate, and measures indoor light with a gauge on its paid tier.

What Hari does differently

Hari’s accountability is private: nudges from friends you added by @username, plus streaks, XP, and 40+ badges on the free tier. Greg’s listing describes a public community feed, and the mechanism its description names for a sick plant is other growers. Hari answers that with Plant Doctor, out of the same free scan allowance.

Hari vs Blossom

Blossom’s listing leads with the record: identification of more than 30,000 plants, collections, and a wishlist. Hari is built around the next action. The other difference is that you can read Hari’s free tier before you download it, and Blossom does not publish what is in its Free Plan.

Hari

Blossom

AI plant identification, free

Yes. 3 AI photo scans a month, shared with diagnosis.

Not stated. A Free Plan exists, and no Blossom source says what is in it.

AI diagnosis of a sick plant, free

Yes. Plant Doctor runs off those same 3 scans, plus 10 follow-up messages a month.

Not stated. Unlimited disease identification is listed as a Premium feature.

Plants you can track for free

6 plants.

Not stated in any Blossom source we could check.

What makes you actually do it

Streaks, XP, and 40+ badges, free. Friend nudges on Pro.

Plant collections and a wishlist are listed.

Price in the US

$4.99 a month, or $29.99 a yearThe year works out to about $2.50 a month. No free trial.

$5.99 for one month, $59.99 to $79.99 for one yearPlus weekly plans at $4.99 and $7.99, both named as carrying a free trial. 3 days, per Blossom’s own checkout.

Platform

iPhone, iOS 18 or later.

iPhone, iOS 15.4 or later.

US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.

What Blossom also does

Blossom also identifies more than 30,000 plants, keeps collections and a wishlist, and offers consultations with an AI botanist on its Premium tier.

What Hari does differently

Hari publishes its free tier in full: 6 plants, 3 AI scans a month across identification and Plant Doctor, 10 Doctor follow-up messages, streaks and 40+ badges. Blossom has a Free Plan and does not publish what is in it. Both keep the record of a plant; Hari spends the rest of its surface on the next watering.

Hari vs PictureThis

Hari identifies plants from a photo too, so this is not identification against no identification. It is what happens in the ten seconds after the plant has a name, and what either app tells you about the free tier before you commit.

Hari

PictureThis

AI plant identification, free

Yes. 3 AI photo scans a month, shared with diagnosis.

Not stated for iPhone. Its FAQ answer about free scans is scoped to Android and earned by sharing the app.

AI diagnosis of a sick plant, free

Yes. Plant Doctor runs off those same 3 scans, plus 10 follow-up messages a month.

Has diagnosis, listed as Plant Disease Auto Diagnose & Cure. Free-tier access is not stated.

Sign-up needed to start

No account needed to start.

No user-created account required, per its own FAQ.

Pet-safety information

Yes, across the 100+ plant library.

Toxic Plant Warning listed.

What makes you actually do it

Streaks, XP, and 40+ badges, free. Friend nudges on Pro.

Not stated in the listing.

Price in the US

$4.99 a month, or $29.99 a yearThe year works out to about $2.50 a month. No free trial.

Pro from $3.99 to $39.99, Family Plan $49.99The listing does not say which billing period each price covers. The listing mentions a free trial “if offered”, without a length.

Platform

iPhone, iOS 18 or later.

iPhone and iPad, iOS 15 or later.

US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.

What PictureThis also does

PictureThis also identifies plants you meet outdoors, trees, weeds and garden plants rather than only houseplants, and it asks for no sign-up either. Hari is scoped to the houseplants you own.

What Hari does differently

PictureThis names plants indoors and out and asks for no sign-up, and its listing also carries disease diagnosis, care instructions, watering schedules, and a Toxic Plant Warning. What its own sources do not state is what any of that costs on the iPhone free tier. Hari is scoped to the houseplants you already own, and prints the free tier in full: species-specific schedules for 100+ houseplants, streaks and 40+ badges, and Plant Doctor for a plant that has gone wrong.

Two tools, one free allowance

Real Hari screens, and two separate tools. The left one names the plant from a photo and builds its watering schedule. The right one is Plant Doctor, reading the same kind of photo for what is wrong. Both draw on the same free allowance of three scans a month, so you never have to decide in advance which one you were going to need.

  • Free: 6 plants, no sign-up, 3 AI scans a month, 10 Plant Doctor follow-up messages.
  • Streaks, XP, and 40+ badges are on the free tier.
  • Friend watering nudges are Hari Pro.
  • Identification and Plant Doctor run on Hari’s servers, so photos you submit leave the device. Your collection, schedules, and reminders stay on the phone.
Hari identifying a houseplant from a photo and showing the matched species with its care scheduleHari Plant Doctor showing a server-side AI diagnosis of a leaf with fungal leaf spot and a confidence score

What about Pl@ntNet?

It belongs on this page because leaving it off would flatter us. Pl@ntNet identifies about 20,000 species from a photo, and its App Store page carries no in-app purchases at all. Hari's free identification is metered at three AI scans a month, shared with Plant Doctor. Those are two different shapes of free, and this page prints both.

What its listing describes, in its own words, is identification plus "a great citizen science project": photographs analysed by scientists to understand plant biodiversity, observations reviewed by the community and mapped, filtering by genus or family, and taxonomic image galleries your own observation may one day join. That same listing does not mention watering, reminders, care, or tracking a collection, and does not describe a diagnosis feature. Hari is the other shape of tool: it tracks the plants you own, schedules the watering, and runs Plant Doctor when one of them goes wrong.

Coming from Vera?

Vera was Bloomscape’s plant-care companion. We could not find a current U.S. App Store listing for it when we searched on September 3, 2026. On iPhone, Hari picks up the same job: add the plant, get a species-specific schedule, get reminded, and keep the history. It is free for 6 plants with no sign-up, so moving your collection over costs nothing.

Try Hari free on iPhone

6 plants, no sign-up. Free includes 3 AI photo scans a month, shared between identification and a Plant Doctor diagnosis, and 10 Plant Doctor follow-up messages. Pro unlocks unlimited plants, higher AI limits, treatment plans, cloud sync, and friend nudges for $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year, about $2.50 a month on the yearly plan.

Download on theApp Store: Hari

Common questions

Straight answers about what Hari does, what it costs, and where the photos go.

Competitor details on this page are attribute level and were read from that vendor's own App Store listing, help center, or website. Where a vendor publishes nothing on a point, this page says so instead of filling the gap in with a No. We could not find a current U.S. App Store listing for Vera when we searched on September 3, 2026. One caveat worth naming: the Planta help-center article that lists identification and Dr. Planta as paid features is stamped July 2024, so it is Planta's own statement but not a recent one, while the article describing its sign-up options was updated September 2026. US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.